the ravenna girls

we blog!

hands down, my favorite knitting project ever. February 17, 2010

Filed under: crafty — ravennagirls @ 3:35 pm
Tags: , ,

B taught me to knit years ago.

She is a patient teacher.

Usually I knit scarves.  I usually can only handle knit stitches.  I tried knitting and purling once, but it was exhausting.  It would take me all winter to finish my scarf. 

This year I needed a new plan.

Something that was more exciting… and frankly turned out better then my boring scarves with dropped stitches everywhere.

Back in September I read this post on CRAFT.  I starred it on my reader and exclaimed with glee… I CAN DO THIS!

Off I went to the craft store to pick up some 100% wool yarn.  This is {pretty much} the biggest detail you need to follow about this project.

The instructions for your elf slippers can be found here.  This link also includes sizing information.  I made mine one size larger  then I normally wear.  That turned out perfect because I needed two washings {on warm with towels} for my slippers to appropriately felt to my liking.

The youtube video on how to fold and stitch your slippers is near the bottom of the instructions.  This was VERY helpful to me when I was at this step.

I made two pairs of slippers this fall.  A trial pair was for me,

and a second pair was a Christmas gift for an awesome friend.  🙂

Her’s came out REALLY well, and I was quite impressed with myself!

There are many awesome things about these slippers:

{I will only name a few}

1.  you look like an elf while wearing them.

2.  they cost approx $5 to make a pair if you don’t include your time.

3.  your stitches don’t have to be perfect.  seriously.  it will all felt together anyway!

4.  you only need to know the one basic stitch.

5. can be made using 1, 2, or 3 colors

6.  easily washed after you have worn them a bunch.  like any wool though, only wash in cold water and don’t put them in the dryer.

7.   no crazy pattern, just straight knitting

8.  they are crazy cute AND cozy.  make excellent footwear while sitting by the fire or watching the olympics!

 

6 Responses to “hands down, my favorite knitting project ever.”

  1. Jo Says:

    So if you’re ever planning on selling a pair 😉 I’d be a customer, because try as I may me and the knitting are not friends and those are flippin’ adorable 🙂

  2. Mom and Dad Says:

    How about a pair for Mom!!!!!!!!?????!!!!!

  3. Angie Says:

    AWESOME- although those stockings are a tremendously close runner-up.

    Your friendly blog stalker,
    Angie

    P.S. Hope all is well.

    P.P.S. Hi Ms. Lisa and Mr. Don!

  4. oh yes….we all need elf slippers

  5. I want a pair or two! how do I get them???
    xxoo noa

  6. […] since my slippers… and then when Feltique was given from Santa over the […]


Leave a Reply

